RSS

Getting the old competitive juices flowing.

25 Feb

So I brewed the latest variation of our new red rye on Saturday morning.  It went well, and aroma of the rye smelled absolutely fantastic.

But then we got a shock that night.  We went into town to Hoptron Brewtique, and learned that they are holding a homebrew competition in late April. Erin convinced me to sign up for it.  So I did.  CTB’s first competition.  Now that we’ve signed up, I’m very excited about it.

But then I realized we need to figure out what to enter in the competition. I could bottle a few of this rye, but it’s an experimental batch.  The same goes for the pub lager that’s still fermenting.  Heck, even the IPA has some differences in the hop schedule that makes me unsure if it’s going to work. I want something tried and true.

When I asked Erin, she said without hesitation “BPA.”  The BPA is our Belgian-American pale ale, which I’ve dubbed Queue Tordue. It’s Belgian, German, and American malts, American hops, and Flemish yeast.  I created it after Erin tried Ommegang’s BPA, and begged me to brew something along the same lines for her birthday last year.  I took my favorite pale ale recipe and replaced the base malt with Belgian Pilsner malt. I then scaled the hops down a notch so as to not have them conflict with the esters from the yeast (I think the hops and yeast in Belgian style IPAs often conflict with one another). We also dry-hopped it with cascade hops. The result was an excellent copper-colored Belgian ale, with just the right American hop flavor and aroma.  It was beautiful.

Perfect for this competition.

Plus, I have the ingredients on hand.  I was planning to brew a batch.  My issue is I need to get this one going now.  There isn’t a lot of time to brew, ferment, and bottle-condition a beer.  I’m going to have to convince Erin that I need to brew one night this week.

Either way, people need to watch out.  Because Le Chat Avec La Queue Tordue is coming…..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in Homebrewing

 

Leave a Reply

 
